Rohini Nayyar Prize


Eligibility and Criteria

Rohini Nayyar Prize 2023
Outstanding Contribution to Rural Development in India

This prize of Rs.10 Lakhs is being awarded every year starting from 2022


  • Individuals up to 40 years of age, born on or after 1 January 1983, who have worked for at least 5 years are eligible
  • Practitioners working in civil society organizations (NGOs), as well as those from government, rural enterprises, community-based organizations (CBOs), and academia, will be eligible for consideration
  • Work on any aspect of rural development, including agriculture, education, health, water, sanitation, employment-creation, environmental-conservation, bio-diversity, energy, enterprise development, women’s empowerment, child development, micro-credit, and related activities.


  • Innovative work which is, for example, ahead of the curve, or brings about a change in social norms and community behavior, or
  • Impactful work, which is sustained, whether extensive (affecting many people in larger geographical spaces), or intensive (major transformative change in a small community)


  • Application/Self-nomination by concerned candidates
  • Nominations by established practitioners
  • Suggestions from distinguished persons


  • Candidates should provide a clear articulation about their work in the wider context of their objectives and vision
  • Candidates will be shortlisted on the basis of information provided in their applications/nominations
  • The prize winner be selected by a Jury of distinguished persons.

Apply or Nominate for Rohini Nayyar Prize


Oh hi there đź‘‹
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam!

Please enter your email address to subscribe to our newsletter.